Book Hotel Now

Saturday, November 3, 2018

The Hilton Downtown Miami

When we arrived at the airport, the snow was coming down pretty heavily.  We entered the Delta ticketing line, and quickly found that our flight had been cancelled.  I didn't know what the consequences of that would be, because I wasn't accustomed to traveling.  Thankfully Delta got us onto a direct flight to Miami with United Airlines.  The Delta flight had a connection in Atlanta, so this actually worked out better for us. 

My first thought after we passed through security was to find a restaurant or bar.  I didn't care, as long as they served liquor.  We settled on "Jimmy's", the same restaurant from the previous year when we went to Las Vegas. 

I drank excessively in order to kill the strong anxiety of flying I felt.

We boarded the plane, it took off, and we quickly moved past the canopy of snow clouds over Denver. 

When we arrived in Miami, I felt like I had really landed on Mars, and we may has well have, it seemed so different to me.  One of  the strangest coincidences was the nice gentleman from the 24 Hour Fitness on Alameda was in the airport.  What were the odds of that.  I saw this guy every other day before I got onto the elliptical, and then to see him there was very strange.

An amazing individual was working the front desk at the hotel, red hair, but probably Cuban.  I tried to avoid staring as my wife looked on from behind.  Her name started with an A I remember. 

The hotel looked dated, and yellow water spewed from the room faucets, but what the hell did I care.  I was in Miami baby.  I was paying employee rate, maybe $35 a night.  It was an amazing experience, but just remember, it was February.  Years later I returned to Florida in August, and that was a different story.  We'll go into that on a future date.

Wednesday, October 31, 2018

My Favorite Las Vegas Hotel

My favorite hotel in all of Las Vegas is The Wynn, owned by the now defamed Steve Wynn.  When Steve wasn’t receiving erotic massages, he was designing one of the most beautiful buildings in the world.  One of the most fascinating things about The Wynn Las Vegas is walking onto the immaculate casino floor, only to see smoke billowing to the beautiful ceilings from the gaming tables.    
Of course Las Vegas still allows smoking indoors.  What’s funny is that in many cities you can’t smoke inside a Best Western.  Go Figure!

There is a beautiful water fall and stunning greener on the grounds of this resort.  The establishment wants to give a feeling of exclusivity which is not common.  A smaller entrance with a velvet rope stands near the valet.  It’s all an illusion however, people are welcome to lose their mortgage their just as anywhere else in Vegas.

Thursday, October 11, 2018

Fairmont Grand Hotel (Kiev, Ukraine)


Intercontinental Kyiv







Boasting impressive views of Kiev, a spa center and elegant restaurants with chandeliers, this 5-star hotel is just a 2-minute walk from the famous St.

Kiev is famous for having beautiful structures such as this.  This amazing hotel is close to everything.  It's close to government embassies, The National Opera House, and most importantly, shopping.  This hotel offers the very best in European, Asian, and French cuisine.  

Sunday, September 16, 2018

Hotel Hugo New York


Warwick Paradise Island Bahamas All Inclusive Adults Only Resort


The Ocean Club, A Four Seasons Hotel


The Cove at Atlantis Autograph Collection


When Traveling, Is It Better To Rent A Car, Uber/Lyft/Cab Or Take Public Transit?

This is a question that I've often pondered.  It really depends on who you are, and what you want, but I do have a definitive answer for you... sort of.  I hardly ever traveled as a young person, but once I got into my 30's I aimed to take advantage of the travel benefit afforded to me as a hotel worker.

My answer is simple.  Take public transit.  It's a great way to get to know a different city; it is true that not all cities have great public transportation systems, so you will have to research that aspect.  Public transportation is normally very affordable, and there is always either a passenger, driver, or security officer available to help you with directions and information.

I've had nightmarish scenarios involving car rentals.  This is the option, however, that provides you with the most flexibility.  This may be your best option if you have money and or credit.  There are many problems that can arise from this option.  Renting a car can be much cheaper than using a town car, cab, or Uber, and save you more time to enjoy yourself, but it can be problematic.

If you have a credit card, you're golden, if you have a debit card tied to a bank account with at least $1000, you're golden.  If you are using a prepaid debit, which I have done in the past, you can have issues when arriving at the car rental agency.  They may not let you even rent a car.  These agencies do not like prepaid debit cards like Netspend.  These god damn places sometimes hold huge deposits on these debits.  Just be on the lookout.

Last and least is Uber/Lyft/Cab/Town Car.  Uber and Lyft may be a  good option for simply getting from and to airport, but relying on them to drive you around will kill you, unless you can afford it of course.  Cabs are absolute scams, and Town Cars tend to undercut cabs by about 15 percent while working a kickback system with hotel front desk workers.  Of all these options, go with Uber or Lyft.

Personally, I prefer public transit, you see more, you meet more people, and it's less costly, but you can't do it in many small cities, so always research.

Friday, September 14, 2018

Hotel Maya Long Beach


The St. Regis Aspen


The Corinthia Hotel London


The Beaumont London


The Westin Denver International Airport


Hilton Downtown Miami


Waldorf Astoria New York


W South Beach


Bugs Bunny Motel (Lakewood, Colorado)


Carlsbad Cape Rey: A Hilton Resort


Hotel Del Coronado Review


The Waldorf Astoria Beverly Hills


Sunday, August 19, 2018

Kuwait Is One Of The Best Places On The Planet

Many of you may not know this, but Kuwait is one of the nicest countries you could ever visit.  Kuwait City has an amazing city center full of attractions and great hotels.  One of the best is The Sheraton Kuwait City.  An absolutely immaculate property that you could only find in a place like Kuwait.  Here are some recent reviews of this great hotel.
















F
Mohammed Rasel
5/5
2 weeks ago on Google
Set 3 km from Souq Al Mubarakeya market, this refined hotel is also 2 km from the Kuwait National Museum.
The airy warm rooms come with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs, and tea and …
More
Response from the ownera week ago
Dear Mr. Rasel,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and thank you very much for your …More
Angie Hess
5/5
a month ago on Google
I have been to quite a few great hotels - but the hospitality at the Sheraton in Kuwait is truly exceptional! Even if I was just a businss traveller I felt like I was a princess by the way I was treated by every single employee at the hotel. If you are up for a massage treatment at its best - ask for Cheenelyn.
Response from the ownera month ago
Dear Mrs. Angie,

We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us at the Sheraton Kuwait and …More
seçil ince
5/5
2 months ago on Google
Absolutely stunning place. Comfort is thought in every detail. fine cuisine which I tried impressed me

Saturday, August 18, 2018

Kimpton Hotel Born Denver

What an amazing hotel, located at Union Station in the Lodo district of Denver.  Union Station is a historic train transportation hub which recently was completely remodeled and given new life as Denver's Light Rail system now goes to it, along with the  A Line to Denver International Airport.  This is a great part of Denver,  mixing old and new. 




Tales From The Front Desk “The Angry Continental Breakfast Lady”

Working in the hotel business you come across vile, crude, and rude people all the time, but Suzanna was a unique one because she worked in a hotel herself!  It start off bad with Suzanna, a heavy set Hispanic woman with a somewhat masculine face and hair pulled back.  We chatted about The Holiday Inn she works at in Arizona, but things started turning south when she called down to the desk to notify me that she was put in the wrong room type.

I found Suzanna a ready two queen room and switched her in the reservation system.  I happened to be on her floor looking for a housekeeper when she started yelling at me about the way the doors were constructed in the building.  She didn’t like that they are weighted, and fall shut on their own.  “This is ridiculous, Augustus help her, don’t just stand there! What was that look for?”

“I didn’t give you a look.”

“Yes you did.”

“Mom don’t.” Her daughter, pushing a baby stroller interjected.

“I’m sorry!” I said.

“You saying sorry is getting old, I’m going to need some kind of compensation.  When is the manager in?  I don’t like how we’ve been treated.”

“I’m sorry!  No really I’m sorry!” I pleaded.  So far I hadn’t lost my temper with a guest at this new hotel, and I was doing a remarkable job in this situation, but it seemed like she was going complain regardlessly.

“Mom he is trying to serve,” her daughter spoke up again.

The next day Suzanna had calmed down, but I was so astonished by her unprovoked bad behavior that I wanted to find out how long she could possibly have worked at that Holiday Inn.  She seemed to have no empathy for hotel workers.  I asked, and she told me six years of working the continental breakfast.  Then she inquired about getting her stay for free again.

Sunday, August 12, 2018

If You Are In The Los Angeles Area, Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton, Is The Way To Go


This is a spectacular hotel, the very best I've stayed at.  The designers thought extremely hard about making this property different.  Here is some information I found about Maya from the hotel site.

ABOUT HOTEL MAYA

Hotel Maya is a DoubleTree by Hilton® hotel that brings the coastal Latin American resort experience to the Long Beach waterfront. Formerly the Coast Long Beach Hotel, the 11-acre Hotel Maya has recently undergone a $20 million renovation, transforming it into a one-of-a-kind boutique hotel destination ideal for both locals and out-of-town guests.
Hotel Maya’s 197 guest rooms are situated in five buildings gracing beautiful resort grounds composed of tropical flowers, an agave garden and more than 400 palm trees.
Inspired by Mayan architecture and a Latin American-styled aesthetic, the hotel was designed by Arya Architects and DPS Interiors. Incorporating a bold and vibrant color palette, natural and organic materials, fire and water elements as well as the richness of stone, bronze and copper, Hotel Maya exudes the exotic decadence of a primitive-yet-luxurious resort experience.


The location of Maya is great, because it's a short trip on the complimentary shuttle to the beach, restaurants, and shopping.  

As  a Doubletree Hotel by Hilton, Gold and Diamond Members receive free breakfast.(Hot Items Not Included)

Service is not something that is overlooked at this hotel.  The entire staff for our stay in February 20018, were thrilling.  

What I liked best about this property was a fairly simple.  The lobby area was detached from the sleeping quarters; meaning you enter a separate building that was not through the lobby to access your room.  


Thursday, August 9, 2018

Sometimes Local Car Services Are a Cheaper Way To Get From The Airport To Your Hotel Than Uber Or Lyft

One of the most difficult elements of travel is just getting from the airport of the city you've flown into to your hotel. Much of this is due to city infrastructure. Cities that have airports either downtown or close to downtown are almost always easier to navigate, and find transportation than airports that seem solar systems away. Airports that act as international hubs tend to be further from the city center than other airports. Two of the problematic ones are Miami and Denver. Denver, where I live, is the home of Denver International Airport, which is about 45 minutes from downtown. Until recently, there wasn't even a train that went to DIA. We all know that the greed of cab companies, greediness of cab drivers, and inefficiency of the industry has led us to businesses like Lyft and Uber. But yes, there is another way. Many local Town Car drivers offer flat rates to and from the airport that are deliberately meant to undercut the cab companies. The problem for them is that Uber and Lyft undercut the cab companies, but this in turn helps you, the customer. Because Uber and Lyft are consuming the industry, many private car services are dropping their rates, you just have to look around. Denver has a great one called ProRide Service. If you happen to be traveling to Denver, look him up. The number is 303-870-8000. He charges an astonishingly low $50 one way transport to or from the airport.